Skip to main content
Global Edition
Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Sydney Roosters

Rugby league club in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Sydney Roosters
Sydney Roosters

The Sydney Roosters are an Australian professional rugby league football club based in the Eastern Suburbs and parts of inner Sydney including the CBD. The club competes in the National Rugby League (NRL) competition. The Roosters have won fifteen New South Wales Rugby League (NSWRL) and National Rugby League titles, and several other competitions. First founded as the Eastern Suburbs District Rugby League Football Club (ESDRLFC), it is the only club to have played in each and every season at the elite level, and since the 1970s has often been dubbed the glamour club of the league. The Sydney Roosters have won 15 premierships, equal to the record of the St George Dragons. Only the South Sydney Rabbitohs have won more premierships. The club holds the record for having won more matches than any other in the league, the most minor premierships and the most World Club Challenge trophies. The Sydney Roosters are one of only two clubs to finish runners-up in their inaugural season. Currently coached by Trent Robinson and captained by James Tedesco, the Roosters play home games at the Sydney Football Stadium.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

Gus makes surprise Ryles prediction

Phil Gould believes Jason Ryles isn't a likely chance to move to the Dragons as the Roosters move for an assistant

Sydney Morning Herald

You might like