Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Nobel Prize

Prizes established by Alfred Nobel in 1895

Nobel Prize
Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prizes are five separate prizes that, according to Alfred Nobel's will of 1895, are awarded to "those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind." Alfred Nobel was a Swedish chemist, engineer, and industrialist most famously known for the invention of dynamite. He died in 1896. In his will, he bequeathed all of his "remaining realisable assets" to be used to establish five prizes which became known as "Nobel Prizes." Nobel Prizes were first awarded in 1901.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like

Nobel Prize media coverage


More coverage