Celebrating 10 Years of Trusted News Discovery
One News Page
> >

Cy Young Award

Major League Baseball award given annually to the best pitcher in each league

Cy Young Award    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Cy Young Award: Major League Baseball award given annually to the best pitcher in each league
The Cy Young Award is given annually to the best pitchers in Major League Baseball (MLB), one each for the American League (AL) and National League (NL). The award was first introduced in 1956 by Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955. The award was originally given to the single best pitcher in the major leagues, but in 1967, after the retirement of Frick, the award was given to one pitcher in each league.


Mets ace deGrom going on injured list, getting MRI on elbow

Mets ace Jacob deGrom is being put on the injured list and returning to New York for an MRI on his elbow after the NL Cy Young Award winner reported a sore right arm - Published

Mets' Jacob deGrom returns to New York for tests after experiencing elbow discomfort

NL Cy Young winner Jacob deGrom will be sent back to New York because of elbow discomfort, as well as fatigue from strep throat, the Mets said. - Published

Videos for Cy Young Award

New York Yankees Pitcher CC Sabathia Joins ESPN As Contributor [Video]New York Yankees Pitcher CC Sabathia Joins ESPN As Contributor

CC Sabathia is already planning for retirement from baseball before he’s even put away his pitcher’s mitt. The New York Yankees pitcher and Cy Young Award winner is joining ESPN as a contributor,..

Credit: Wochit News     Duration: 00:49Published


Shower accident sidelines Cy Young winner Blake Snell with broken toe

Rays are hopeful that lefty Blake Snell will only miss one start after he dropped a piece of granite on his foot while getting out of the shower. - Published

Rays put Cy Young winner Snell on IL with fractured toe

Tampa Bay Rays place ace LHP Blake Snell on 10-day injured list with broken toe - Published

Former All-Star Carlos Zambrano says he's launching a comeback

Carlos Zambrano finished fifth in Cy Young voting three times and led the National League with 16 wins in 2006. He hasn't pitched in the majors since 2012. - Published

Yasiel Puig gets upper hand on Clayton Kershaw with home run in return to Los Angeles

Ex-Dodgers OF Yasiel Puig gives former teammate Clayton Kershaw a rude awakening in the three-time Cy Young winner's 2019 debut with homer. - Published

You Might Like

Environmentally friendly: One News Page is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2019 One News Page Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Press Room  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest
One News® is a registered trademark of One News Page Ltd.