Trusted News Discovery Since 2008
One News Page
One News Page > In the News > South Yorkshire Facts and News Updates

South Yorkshire

County of England

South Yorkshire    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

South Yorkshire: County of England
South Yorkshire is a metropolitan county in England. It is the southernmost county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region and had a population of 1.34 million in 2011. It has an area of 1,552 square kilometres (599 sq mi) and consists of four metropolitan boroughs, Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield. South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972. Its largest settlement is Sheffield.


Escaped British prisoner found working in underground cigarette factory in Spain

Daniel Dobbs disappeared from his cell in South Yorkshire in November 2018 where he was serving a 13-year sentence for trafficking heroin and amphetamines
Independent - Published

South Yorkshire firefighters in 'defiant' video against homophobia

The fire service revealed the comments it received after posting a rainbow flag on Facebook.
BBC News - Published

'I can't stop smiling': Booze, bingo and bunting at Barnsley Brexit celebrations

The Independent joins revellers toasting EU departure in South Yorkshire town – and finds them in party mood, writes Colin Drury
Independent - Published

Liberty Steel: More than 350 jobs to go in Yorkshire and Wales

Liberty Steel announces redundancies at its South Yorkshire and South Wales speciality steel plants.
BBC News - Published

South Yorkshire flooding: Government cash for relief appeal

The government praises the "community spirit" of South Yorkshire as it confirms up to £1m in funding.
BBC News - Published

Prince Charles visits flood-hit South Yorkshire village

The Prince of Wales met rescue workers and residents affected by last month's flooding.
BBC News - Published

General election 2019: Labour seats fall in South Yorkshire

Labour's "dismal" night sees them lose Yorkshire seats they have held for generations.
BBC News - Published

South Yorkshire flooding: Clean-up starts in Bentley

Volunteers gathered to clear up the streets of Bentley after floods flowed through the region.
BBC News - Published

'It could take years to recover': Residents in Fishlake fear the worst after unprecedented flooding

The Independent visits South Yorkshire village where half of all homes have now been evacuated - and which is bracing itself for more heavy rain
Independent - Published

England flooding: South Yorkshire villagers rally round

People living around the flood-hit village of Fishlake are helping out their neighbours.
BBC News - Published

PM Boris Johnson heckled in flood-hit South Yorkshire

The prime minister got a frosty reception from some locals, amid wider criticism of his handling of the crisis.
BBC News - Published

Helicopter captures footage of flooded South Yorkshire

Aerial shots show flooded streets and stranded vehicles after torrential rain hit South Yorkshire.
BBC News - Published

South Yorkshire flooding: Homes evacuated as rain cause travel chaos

Parts of northern England endure a month's worth of rain in 24 hours, leaving people stranded.
BBC News - Published

South Yorkshire floods: People stuck in Meadowhall 'bought pyjamas'

A woman who was stuck in a flood-hit shopping centre in Sheffield says she saw people buying pyjamas from Primark as they planned to spend the night there.
BBC News - Published

Rail services in South Yorkshire affected by heavy rain

Flooding on the lines is impacting Northern train services and is expected to continue all day.
BBC News - Published

South Yorkshire amputee aims for Paralympic games

Michael Bates from Doncaster lost his leg in a motorcycle accident three years ago.
BBC News - Published

Hong Kong protests: Clashes in Sheffield as rival groups stand off in city centre

Bottles thrown and police scrambled as democracy battle comes to streets of South Yorkshire
Independent - Published

Remains Of Britain's Largest WWII POW Camp Discovered

remains of britain's largest wwii pow camp discovered
The forgotten history of what was once Britain’s biggest prisoner of war camp has been unearthed by archaeologists in the South Yorkshire countryside, The Guardian reports. At its peak during World..
WorldNews - Published

You Might Like

Environmentally friendly: One News Page is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2020 One News Page Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Press Room  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest
One News® is a registered trademark of One News Page Ltd.