Skip to main content
Global Edition
Friday, April 19, 2024

Schengen Area

Area of 29 European states without mutual border controls

Schengen Area
Schengen Area

The Schengen Area is an area encompassing 29 European countries that have officially abolished border controls at their mutual borders. Being an element within the wider area of freedom, security and justice policy of the European Union (EU), it mostly functions as a single jurisdiction under a common visa policy for international travel purposes. The area is named after the 1985 Schengen Agreement and the 1990 Schengen Convention, both signed in Schengen, Luxembourg.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like