Skip to main content
Global Edition
Sunday, December 4, 2022


Area in which the euro is the official currency


The eurozone (EZ), officially called the euro area, is a group of 19 member states of the European Union (EU) that have fully implemented the Economic and Monetary Union of the European Union and have thus adopted the euro (€) as their primary currency and sole legal tender. The monetary authority of the eurozone is the Eurosystem. Eight members of the European Union continue to use their own national currencies, although most of them have agreed to adopt the euro in the future.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like

Eurozone media coverage