Skip to main content
Global Edition
Thursday, September 29, 2022

Independence Day (India)

Public holiday celebrated on 15 August

Independence Day (India)
Independence Day (India)

Independence Day is celebrated annually on 15 August as a public holiday in India commemorating the nation's independence from the United Kingdom on 15 August 1947, the day when the provisions of the Indian Independence Act, which transferred legislative sovereignty to the Indian Constituent Assembly, came into effect. India retained King George VI as head of state until its transition to a republic, when the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 and replaced the dominion prefix, Dominion of India, with the enactment of the sovereign law Constitution of India. India attained independence following the independence movement noted for largely non-violent resistance and civil disobedience.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like

Independence Day (India) media coverage


More coverage