Skip to main content
Global Edition
Friday, July 30, 2021

Lower Rio Grande Valley

Location in south Texas and Northeast Mexico

Lower Rio Grande Valley
Lower Rio Grande Valley

The Lower Rio Grande Valley, commonly known as the Rio Grande Valley or locally as The Valley, is a socio-cultural region spanning the border of Texas and Mexico located in a floodplain draining into the Rio Grande near its mouth. The region includes the southernmost tip of South Texas and a portion of northern Tamaulipas, Mexico. It consists of the Brownsville, Harlingen, Weslaco, Pharr, McAllen, Edinburg, Mission, San Juan, and Rio Grande City metropolitan areas in the United States and the Matamoros, Río Bravo, and Reynosa metropolitan areas in Mexico. These cities are surrounded by many small neighborhoods or colonias. The area is generally bilingual in English and Spanish, with a fair amount of Spanglish due to the diverse history of the region. A large seasonal influx occurs of "winter Texans" — Texans who come down from the north for the winter and then go back up north before summer arrives.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage