Skip to main content
Global Edition
Monday, May 23, 2022

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Country in Central Africa

Democratic Republic of the Congo
Democratic Republic of the Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, also known as Congo-Kinshasa, DR Congo, the DRC, the DROC, or the Congo, and formerly Zaire, is a country in Central Africa. It is, by area, the second largest country in Africa, and the 11th-largest in the world. With a population of around 92 million, the Democratic Republic of the Congo is the most populous officially Francophone country in the world. It is a member of the United Nations, Non-Aligned Movement, African Union, and COMESA. Since 2015, the Eastern DR Congo has been the site of an ongoing military conflict in Kivu. The capital and largest city is Kinshasa, which is also the world's most populous Francophone city.

0 shares 5 views

News coverage

You might like