Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, November 29, 2023


Flag carrier of Australia


Qantas Airways Limited is the flag carrier and the largest airline in Australia and the largest by fleet size, international flights, and international destinations in the country and Oceania. It is the second-oldest continuously operating airline, having been founded in November 1920. Qantas is an acronym of the airline's original name, Queensland and Northern Territory Aerial Services, as it originally served Queensland and the Northern Territory, and is popularly nicknamed "The Flying Kangaroo". It is considered the only airline in the world to fly to all seven continents, with it being the only airline operating regular sightseeing flights to Antarctica along with flights to Africa, Europe, Asia, North America and South America. Qantas is a founding member of the Oneworld airline alliance.

0 shares 10 views

News coverage

You might like