Skip to main content
Global Edition
Saturday, April 1, 2023

Saddam Hussein

President of Iraq from 1979 to 2003

Saddam Hussein
Saddam Hussein

Saddam Hussein, also known mononymously as Saddam, was an Iraqi politician who served as the fifth president of Iraq from 16 July 1979 until 9 April 2003. A leading member of the revolutionary Arab Socialist Ba'ath Party, and later, the Baghdad-based Ba'ath Party and its regional organization, the Iraqi Ba'ath Party—which espoused Ba'athism, a mix of Arab nationalism, Iraqi nationalism and Arab socialism—Saddam played a key role in the 1968 coup that brought the party to power in Iraq.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like