Trusted News Discovery Since 2008
One News Page
One News Page > News Videos > West Africa > West Africa renames colonialism-linked CFA franc

West Africa renames colonialism-linked CFA franc

Video Credit: Reuters - Politics - Duration: 01:45s - Published < > Embed
West Africa renames colonialism-linked CFA franc

West Africa renames colonialism-linked CFA franc

West Africa's monetary union has agreed with France to rename the CFA franc and cut some links with Paris in a move likely welcomed by those who see the currency as a colonial relic.

David Doyle reports.


West Africa renames colonialism-linked CFA franc

The West African form of the CFA franc will be renamed and some of its financial links to France cut in a move likely to please critics who have long seen the region's common currency as a colonial relic.

The changes were announced on Saturday (December 21) during a visit by French President Emmanuel Macron to the Ivory Coast.

Ivorian president Alassane Outtara called it a historic day for his country and the whole of West Africa.

Under the deal the currency will be renamed the Eco.

While it will remain pegged to the euro, the currency bloc will not have to keep 50% of their reserves in the French Treasury and there will no longer be a French representative on the union's board.

The CFA Franc was born in 1945 and at the time stood for Colonies Francaises d'Afrique, or French Colonies in Africa.

This was later changed to Communaute Financiere Africaine in West Africa, meaning African Financial Community.

Its relative value to the French franc remained largely unchanged until 1994 - when it was devalued by 50% to boost exports from the region - a move that caused painful price increases, demonstrations and violent clashes.

Macron said the deal was an end of certain relics of the past - adding that he does not want to influence through guardianship or intrusion.

The CFA is used in 14 African countries with a combined population of about 150 million and $235 billion of gross domestic product.

The changes announced on Saturday will only apply to West African form of the currency used in Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo - all former French colonies except Guinea Bissau.

You Might Like

Tweets about this

Environmentally friendly: One News Page is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2020 One News Page Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Press Room  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest
One News® is a registered trademark of One News Page Ltd.