Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, February 1, 2023

United States Congress

Legislative branch of U.S. government

United States Congress
United States Congress

The United States Congress is the legislature of the federal government of the United States. It is bicameral, composed of a lower body, the House of Representatives, and an upper body, the Senate. It meets in the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. Senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a governor's appointment. Congress has 535 voting members: 100 senators and 435 representatives. The U.S. vice president has a vote in the Senate only when senators are evenly divided. The House of Representatives has six non-voting members.

1 shares 49 views

News coverage

7 Little-Known Black History Facts

Wibbitz Top Stories

7 Little-Known , Black History Facts.
1. Shirley Chisholm, She was the first Black woman elected to Congress and survived..

You might like

United States Congress media coverage


More coverage