Skip to main content
Global Edition
Sunday, July 14, 2024

Rajya Sabha

Upper house of the Parliament of India

Rajya Sabha
Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha, also known as the Council of States, is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of India. As of 2023, it has a maximum membership of 250, of which 238 are elected by the legislatures of the states and union territories using single transferable votes through open ballots, while the president can appoint 12 members for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social service. The total allowed capacity is 250 according to article 80 of the Indian Constitution. The current potential seating capacity of the Rajya Sabha is 245, after the Jammu and Kashmir (Reorganisation) Act. The maximum seats of 250 members can be filled up at the discretion and requirements of the house of Rajya Sabha.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like

Rajya Sabha media coverage


More coverage