Skip to main content
Global Edition
Tuesday, June 28, 2022

National Rugby League

Australasian rugby league football competition

National Rugby League
National Rugby League

The National Rugby League (NRL), formed in 1998, is the pre-eminent rugby league club competition in Australia and New Zealand. It contains some clubs from the original Sydney club rugby league competition, which had been running continuously since 1908. A single team from New Zealand also plays in the league. The NRL formed in the aftermath of the 1990s' Super League war as a joint partnership between the Australian Rugby League (ARL) and media giant News Corporation–controlled Super League, after both organisations ran premierships parallel to each other in 1997. This partnership was dissolved in February 2012, with control of the NRL going solely to the re-constituted ARL, which was re-structured with an independent board of directors and renamed as the Australian Rugby League Commission.

0 shares 5 views

News coverage

You might like