Skip to main content
Global Edition
Sunday, July 14, 2024

European Commission

Executive branch of the European Union

European Commission
European Commission

The European Commission (EC) is the primary executive arm of the European Union (EU). It operates as a cabinet government, with 27 members of the Commission headed by a President. It includes an administrative body of about 32,000 European civil servants. The commission is divided into departments known as Directorates-General (DGs) that can be likened to departments or ministries each headed by a Director-General who is responsible to a Commissioner.

0 shares 10 views

News coverage

You might like

European Commission media coverage


More coverage