Skip to main content
Global Edition
Friday, October 7, 2022

United Rugby Championship

Annual rugby union competition in Europe and South Africa

United Rugby Championship
United Rugby Championship

The United Rugby Championship (URC) is an annual rugby union competition involving professional teams from Ireland, Italy, Scotland, South Africa, and Wales. The current name was adopted in 2021 when the league expanded to include four South African teams previously from the SANZAR Super Rugby competition. The league is one of the three major professional leagues in Europe, the most successful teams from which go forward to compete in the European Rugby Champions Cup. Since 2022-23, despite the name, South African teams have been eligible to qualify for European competition, and one South African place is guaranteed.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like