Skip to main content
Global Edition
Saturday, January 28, 2023

Solomon Islands

Country in the south-western Pacific

Solomon Islands
Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands is an island country consisting of six major islands and over 900 smaller islands in Oceania, to the east of Papua New Guinea and north-west of Vanuatu. It has a land area of 28,400 square kilometres (11,000 sq mi), and a population of approx. 700,000. Its capital, Honiara, is located on the largest island, Guadalcanal. The country takes its name from the wider area of the Solomon Islands (archipelago), which is a collection of Melanesian islands that also includes the Autonomous Region of Bougainville, but excludes the Santa Cruz Islands.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like