Skip to main content
Global Edition
Sunday, January 24, 2021


Unicameral national legislature of Israel


The Knesset is the unicameral national legislature of Israel. As the legislative branch of the Israeli government, the Knesset passes all laws, elects the president and prime minister, approves the cabinet, and supervises the work of the government. In addition, the Knesset elects the state comptroller. It also has the power to waive the immunity of its members, remove the president and the state comptroller from office, dissolve the government in a constructive vote of no confidence, and to dissolve itself and call new elections. The prime minister may also dissolve the Knesset. However, until an election is completed, the Knesset maintains authority in its current composition. The Knesset is located in Givat Ram, Western Jerusalem. The Knesset was elected on 2 March 2020. On 23 December 2020, the Knesset officially dissolved after a failure to come to a budget agreement and will not be restored until a new election is held.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like