Skip to main content
Global Edition
Friday, April 19, 2024


Country in Central Asia


Uzbekistan, officially the Republic of Uzbekistan, is a country located in Central Asia. It is surrounded by five countries: Kazakhstan to the north, Kyrgyzstan to the northeast, Tajikistan to the southeast, Afghanistan to the south, and Turkmenistan to the southwest, making it one of only two doubly landlocked countries on Earth, the other being Liechtenstein. Uzbekistan is part of the Turkic world, as well as a member of the Organization of Turkic States. Uzbek is the majority language, while Russian is widely spoken and understood. Islam is the predominant religion, and most Uzbeks are Sunni Muslims.

0 shares 9 views

News coverage

You might like

Uzbekistan media coverage

Uzbekistan strikes gold on opening day

There’s no let up on the IJF world judo tour, as after just one weekend of rest we’re back in Tashkent in the judo mad country..

euronews (in English)