Skip to main content
Global Edition
Tuesday, January 18, 2022

South Africa

Country in Southern Africa

South Africa
South Africa

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is the southernmost country in Africa. With over 60 million people, it is the world's 23rd-most populous nation and covers an area of 1,221,037 square kilometres. South Africa has three capital cities: executive Pretoria, judicial Bloemfontein and legislative Cape Town. The largest city is Johannesburg. About 80% of South Africans are of Black African ancestry, divided among a variety of ethnic groups speaking different African languages. The remaining population consists of Africa's largest communities of European, Asian, and Multiracial ancestry.

0 shares 38 views

News coverage

You might like

South Africa media coverage


More coverage