Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, July 6, 2022

South Korea

Country in East Asia

South Korea
South Korea

South Korea, officially the Republic of Korea (ROK), is a country in East Asia, constituting the southern part of the Korean Peninsula and sharing a land border with North Korea. Its western border is formed by the Yellow Sea, while its eastern border is defined by the Sea of Japan. South Korea claims to be the sole legitimate government of the entire peninsula and adjacent islands. It has a population of 51.75 million, of which roughly half live in the Seoul Capital Area, the fifth largest metropolis in the world. Other major cities include Incheon, Busan, and Daegu.

0 shares 15 views

News coverage

You might like

South Korea media coverage

Activists in Seoul mark World Oceans Day

euronews (in English)

South Korean environmental activists protest against Japan's plan to dump radioactive water from Fukushima into the sea on World..


More coverage