Skip to main content
Global Edition
Monday, September 25, 2023

European Union

Political and economic union of 27 states

European Union
European Union

The European Union (EU) is a supranational political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The union has a total area of 4,233,255 km2 (1,634,469 sq mi) and an estimated total population of over 448 million. The EU has often been described as a sui generis political entity combining the characteristics of both a federation and a confederation.

0 shares 132 views

News coverage

You might like

European Union media coverage


More coverage