Skip to main content
Global Edition
Thursday, January 21, 2021

Tigray Region

State in northern Ethiopia

Tigray Region
Tigray Region

The Tigray Region is the northernmost region of Ethiopia. Tigray is the homeland of the Tigrayan, Irob and Kunama peoples. Tigray is also known as Region 1 according to the federal constitution. Its capital and largest city is Mekelle. Tigray is the 5th largest by area, the 5th most populous, and the 5th most densely populated of the 10 Regional States.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like

Tigray Region media coverage


More coverage