Skip to main content
Global Edition
Sunday, February 25, 2024

Soviet Union

Socialist state in Eurasia, 1922–1991

Soviet Union
Soviet Union

The Soviet Union, officially the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), was a transcontinental country that spanned much of Eurasia from 1922 to 1991. The country was a successor state to the Russian Empire; it was nominally a federal union of fifteen national republics, the largest and most populous of which was the Russian SFSR, but in practice both its government and its economy were highly centralized until its final years. As a one-party state governed by the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, it was a flagship communist state.

0 shares 5 views

News coverage

You might like

Soviet Union media coverage