Skip to main content
Global Edition
Monday, June 27, 2022


Country in north-west Europe; part of the United Kingdom


Scotland (Scots: Scotland, Scottish Gaelic: Alba [ˈal̪ˠapə] is the northern third of the main island of Great Britain, mainland Scotland has a 96-mile border with England to the southeast and is otherwise surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the north and west, the North Sea to the northeast and the Irish Sea to the south, with 790+ islands, principally in the archipelagos of the Hebrides and the Northern Isles. Most of the population, including the capital Edinburgh, is concentrated in the Central Belt—the plain between the Scottish Highlands and the Southern Uplands—in the Scottish Lowlands.

0 shares 21 views

News coverage

You might like

Scotland media coverage


More coverage