Skip to main content
Global Edition
Saturday, June 25, 2022

New South Wales

State of Australia

New South Wales
New South Wales

New South Wales is a state on the east coast of Australia. It borders Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south, and South Australia to the west. Its coast borders the Coral and Tasman Seas to the east. The Australian Capital Territory and Jervis Bay Territory are enclaves within the state. New South Wales' state capital is Sydney, which is also Australia's most populous city. In June 2020, the population of New South Wales was over 8.1 million, making it Australia's most populous state. Just under two-thirds of the state's population, 5.3 million, live in the Greater Sydney area.

0 shares 130 views

News coverage

Week of strike action for NSW

Sydney Morning Herald

Nurses, teachers and train drivers will all strike over a four-day period in NSW next week.

You might like