The High Court of Delhi was established on 31 October 1966, through the Delhi High Court Act, 1966. It is the highest court performing judicial functions in the NCT of Delhi at the State level. Below it are the Subordinate Courts, functioning for 9 Judicial Districts namely (1) Central (2) New Delhi (3) South (4) South-West (5) North (6) North-West (7) West (8) North-East (9) East. It gets its powers from Chapter V in Part VI of the Constitution of India.