Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, November 29, 2023


Country in Central Europe


Austria, formally the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked country in Central Europe, lying in the Eastern Alps. It is a federation of nine federal states, one of which is the capital, Vienna, the most populous city and federal state. Austria is bordered by Germany to the northwest, Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia to the northeast, Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The country occupies an area of 83,900 km2 (32,394 sq mi) and has a population of around 9 million.

0 shares 12 views

News coverage

You might like

Austria media coverage