Skip to main content
Global Edition
Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Islamic republic

Theocratic republic based on Islamic law

Islamic republic
Islamic republic

An Islamic republic is a sovereign state that is officially ruled by Islamic laws and is contrasted to Islamic monarchy. As a name or title, four states are Islamic republics: Afghanistan, Iran, Mauritania and Pakistan. Pakistan first adopted the title under the constitution of 1956; Mauritania adopted it on 28 November 1958; Iran adopted it after the 1979 Iranian Revolution that overthrew the Pahlavi dynasty; and Afghanistan adopted it in 2004 after the fall of the Taliban government.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like