Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, October 4, 2023


State in Eastern India


Odisha, formerly Orissa, is an Indian state located in Eastern India. It is the 8th-largest state by area, and the 11th-largest by population, with over 41 million inhabitants. The state also has the third-largest population of Scheduled Tribes in India. It neighbours the states of Jharkhand and West Bengal to the north, Chhattisgarh to the west, and Andhra Pradesh to the south. Odisha has a coastline of 485 kilometres (301 mi) along the Bay of Bengal in Indian Ocean. The region is also known as Utkala and is mentioned by this name in India's national anthem, "Jana Gana Mana". The language of Odisha is Odia, which is one of the Classical Languages of India.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like

Odisha media coverage