Skip to main content
Global Edition
Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Mid-Atlantic (United States)

Region of the United States

Mid-Atlantic (United States)
Mid-Atlantic (United States)

The Middle Atlantic states, commonly shortened to Mid-Atlantic states, is a region of the United States generally located in the overlap between the Northeastern and Southeastern States. Its exact definition differs upon source, but the region typically includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. When discussing climate, Connecticut is sometimes included in the region, as its climate is closer to that of the Mid-Atlantic states than the rest of the New England states. The Mid-Atlantic has played an important role in the development of American culture, commerce, trade, and industry; in the late 19th century, the Mid-Atlantic was called "the typically American" region by Frederick Jackson Turner.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like